Collins and Wright Rip Harvey For Missing Workout

By: Paul DiSclafani

matt harvey 100615

The Mets had their first postseason workout as a team on Tuesday, but they had it without pitcher Matt Harvey, who said he lost track of time.

“I know we had a mandatory workout”, said Harvey, who is scheduled to pitch Game 3 of the NLDS between the Mets and the Dodgers next Monday at Citi Field, “The last thing I ever want to do is not be here with my team. Basically, there’s no excuse. I screwed up.”

The noon to 2pm workout went on without Harvey, but not without controversy and admonishment from both his manager and Captain David Wright.

Manager Terry Collins was livid when he was told that Harvey called to tell the team he was stuck in traffic in a tunnel. “Dan Warthen came to me and said, ‘We got a call from Harvey. He’s stuck in traffic.’ End of story. I don’t know where he was. The day went on and I’m thinking, ‘Where the hell is this guy?’ I don’t know where he was. He just told me he f—–up. He was doing stuff and looked up and it was 1pm. I don’t know what it was. I don’t care.”

David Wright did not come to his defense and made no bones about his feelings. “I’m concerned about the guys that are here. The guys that are here, we had a great workout. You’ll have to talk to Matt about that. We’re rolling. We’re clicking. Guys came in today, took care of business, did what they need to prepare for Friday. You can only worry about what you can control.”

Once again, Harvey has put himself in a bad light with his selfishness, not only with the fans, but his teammates. This is going to cost him a lot more than money, although it looks like it is going to cost him a lot of money. “I’m going to take care of it in-house,” Collins said. “I deal with it one way. The players deal with it another way. He’s going to get fined. It’s no big deal. He’s going to pitch. He f—up. People do that. He feels bad. The players will take care of it on their own. We don’t need it. We need to try to stay as positive as we can.

“One thing about having rich players: There’s a nice donation they’ll be making.”

Leave a Reply

