Mets Fans Need a Break More Than The Team Does

By: Paul DiSclafani

citi field 101715

I don’t know about you, but I’m exhausted!  Late games out in California, home games ending at 11:30 with work the next day.  I need this weekend off.  My Fantasy Football team is 0-5…

Don’t get me wrong, I am enjoying this ride more than you can imagine.  I’ve been dreaming of this for years, watching the baseball playoffs every year and thinking, “How come MY team can’t be in the playoffs?”

We Mets fans have had to put up with the Yankees for a long time around here.  Year after year, once the regular season is over, we’re getting ready for football and hockey while they are putting on their parkers and heading to the stadium for Game 5.

I don’t remember the postseason being so exhausting, both mentally and physically, do you?

I was fortunate enough to attend Games 3 and 4 of the NLDS and Monday’s Game 3 didn’t end until 12:30am.  When the eighth inning started at 12:04, the Mets chose to play Eric Clapton’s “After Midnight” over the PA.  By the time we negotiated the parking lot and got home. It was close to 2am  with work and a possible clinching Game 4 the next night.

Please understand that I am in no way complaining, just observing.  Of course, I was 15 years younger the last time I went to this many playoff games and 29 years younger when I saw them win the World Series in Game 7.

The energy in the ballpark was electric and the fans were singing songs and chanting for Chase Utley’s , err, head.

And we didn’t get a break with the clinching Game 5 out on the West Coast on a Thursday, making Friday a difficult morning.  But we were moving on!  The Mets made the Final Four and we were looking at a Weekend of NLCS baseball at Citi Field!

Have you been to a football game in December?  I have.  But I didn’t go to the Meadowlands wearing a baseball jersey and a baseball hat.  The weekend series was frigid here in NY and those of us who went to both games on Saturday and Sunday dressed more appropriately on Sunday night.  But we still froze our butts off.

Of course, we spent a lot of time yelling and screaming to stay warm, but it was worth it.  This is what October baseball is all about.  Just wished I had a Mets wool cap.  As we walked down the outfield ramps after the game on Sunday from our Upper Promenade seats (yes, they have them at Citi Field, too), my phone said the temperature was 37 degrees.

When the Mets had a chance to sweep this series on Wednesday, I realized the ramifications of the victory.  The Mets are going to the World Series.  I am going to the World Series for games 3-4-5.  But more importantly, I’ve got the weekend off!

Sweet baby Jesus!   The Nationals aren’t coming into town for a First Place Showdown; I don’t have to worry about the Yankees anymore; There is no more talk about innings limits.  This is just wonderful!  I can go to a movie this weekend (I heard “The Martian” was very good), I can catch up to yard work, I can do some DVR watching.  Did you know the new season of “The Walking Dead” started already?  Where has the time gone?

My life has been on hold for the last few weeks, as I am sure all of you are in the same boat.  You mean the Islanders and Rangers have played 8 games already?

Enjoy your non-baseball related weekend, my fellow Mets fans. We need this.  How do those Yankee fans do this year after year?

We’re getting right back on the horse Tuesday for one last time in 2015.  It’s going to be memorable, I can feel it.  But I’m going to need to rest up between now and then.  My body doesn’t bounce back in 24 hours the way it used to.  I think I got frostbite last weekend.

Wait, the Jets are 4-1 and playing the Patriots  for first place on Sunday?  Sheesh…

3 comments

  1. Tom

    This was literally taken from my mind, I too was 7@gm 7 in 86, I too was out every night my senior year in college watching the mets yanks World Series. I’m so in need of a day off. I can’t wait to not sleep, eat bad, and stress out again starting Tuesday.

    LGM

    Like

  2. Pingback: You Mean I Can Make $25 G’s For My World Series Tickets? « A View From The Bench

Leave a Reply

